Canada has extended the status restoration policy

Canada has extended the status restoration policy

Canada has extended the status restoration policy
On December 31, 2020, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) has extended the temporary policy adopted on July 14, 2020, which allows foreign nationals whose temporary resident status has expired more than 90 ago to apply for status restoration. The initial deadline for the status restoration application was December 31, 2020. Now, IRCC allows anyone who maintained a valid status on or after January 30, 2020, but now has an expired status, to apply for restoration until August 31, 2021. This policy should help foreign workers, students and visitors who lost their status due to COVID-19 to stay in Canada legally.

#TRV, #status_restoration, #visa_to_Canada, #study_permit, #work_permit, #international_students, #foreign_workers, #temprrary_residents, #IRCC

Forecast: The border between Canada and the United States will not open until spring
According to the group of American and Canadian experts from the Wilson Center in Washington, DC, the US-Canada border will not open until spring 2021. They will present a detailed set of recommendations on how to properly reopen the border in March. The Institute will consider all the proposals and hold a couple of meetings to discuss all aspects of the reopening. According to the group, President-elect Joe Biden can speed up the opening of the border through good relations with his Canadian counterpart, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau.

#USA, #travel_restrictions, #COVID_19

What provinces benefited the most from Express Entry in 2020?
The main beneficiary of Express Entry in 2020 was Ontario. In the first ten months of 2020, this province accepted 34,405 (60%) of all immigrants through the Express Entry. British Columbia welcomed every second immigrant – 11,595 individuals (20.2%). Alberta admitted 6,200 newcomers (10.8%). The only territory that did not get any Express Entry immigrants is Nunavut.

Alberta – 6,200 (10.8%)
British Columbia – 11,595 (20.2%)
Manitoba – 1,325 (2.3%)
New Brunswick – 715 (1.2%)
Newfoundland and Labrador – 145 (0.3%)
Northwest Territories – 30 (0.1%)
Nova Scotia – 1,390 (2.4%)
Ontario – 34,405 (60.0%)
Prince Edward Island – 415 (0.7%)
Saskatchewan – 1,115 (1.9%)
Yukon – 30 (0.1%)
Canada welcomed 57,365 foreign nationals who immigrated to Canada via Express Entry between January 1 and October 30, 2020.

#Express_Entry, #PR, #PR_admissions